• Macr Cantave

Philadelphia 76ers Mount Rushmore

OTG Basketball presents, NBA Mount Rushmore, where we look at who belongs on the Mount Rushmore of each team in the league. Up next, is the Philadelphia 76ers.

Wilt Chamberlain

Wilt Chamberlain is one of the most dominant figures in NBA history. He’s played for a few teams, but his time on the Sixers could not be ignored.

He only played four seasons with the Sixers, but during this time he averaged 27.6 points and 23.9 rebounds per game. He won a championship with them in 1967.

Chamberlain dominated during this four-year stretch, as he did a majority of his career, and he got one of his two championships with the Sixers.

Julius Erving

Julius Erving, Dr. J, was recognized early on in his career as one of the greatest ABA players of all time as his tenure with the Nets led to three ABA MVPs and two championships.

His time in the NBA was just as impressive as he won MVP in 1981, was an 11-time All-Star, and is partly responsible for winning the Sixers' last championship in 1983. Erving spent his entire 11-year NBA career on the Sixers and averaged 22 points and 6.7 rebounds per game. Known as one of the greatest small forwards of all-time, Erving definitely makes the Mount Rushmore.

Charles Barkley

Charles Barkley, like Chamberlain, played for several teams in the NBA, but his time on the Sixers was impactful. Although he didn’t win a championship like the two above, Barkley put up dominant stats.

Charles Barkley played his first eight seasons with the Sixers and averaged 23.3 points and 11.6 rebounds per game.

Although he didn’t have much playoff success in Philly and would later have better accolades in Phoenix, Barkley will always be one of the greatest Sixers players of all-time and for that he’s on the Mount Rushmore.

Allen Iverson

You’d be hard-pressed to find a more recognizable Sixer outside of Dr. J when it comes to Allen Iverson. Arguably the cities’ favorite player, Iverson put his body on the line for this team for 12 seasons.

During this time, Iverson averaged 27.6 points per game to go along with 6.1 assists. He received every accolade besides winning the championship. He was an MVP, All-Star MVP, 11-time All-Star, seven-time All-NBA player, and a four-time scoring champion.

Iverson made a Finals appearance in 2001 with the Sixers which is their first time since Dr. J won in 1983 and their last appearance to date. Needless to say, Iverson has been their biggest superstar this millennium, and he definitely is on the Mount Rushmore.

These four players are on the Mount Rushmore for the Sixers and they are apart of the rich history that is the Philadelphia 76ers.

All rights reserved to Off the Glass and Otgbasketball
Otgbasketball.com does not own the rights to any NBA related photos used and will happily take them down at the request of the owner.